All about Serbia


Population – 7,181,505 inhabitants (excluding Kosovo)Karta Srbije

Capital – Belgrade

GDP – 28.69 billion (euros)

GDP per capita – 7,377 euros

Economic growth – 1% in 2010 – 1.9% in 2011 – 2% in 2012

Unemployment rate – 25.5%

Inflation rate – 13% in 2012 – 9.6% in 2013 (projected)

General information:

Location: Southeastern Europe, central part of the Balkan Peninsula

Geographic coordinates: 44 00 N, 21 00 E

Area: 99,269 km2

Population: 7.2 million (excluding the Autonomous Province of Kosovo and Metohija)

Borders: Serbia borders Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Albania, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Croatia

Capital: Belgrade, about 1.6 million inhabitants

Cities over 100,000 inhabitants: Novi Sad, Niš, Kragujevac, Pristina, Subotica

Government: Parliamentary Republic

Official Language: Serbian

National currency: Dinar (100 para)

Time Zone: GMT+1

Serbia, or officially the Republic of Serbia, is a continental country located in Southeastern Europe, covering an area of ​​the Balkans and partly in Central Europe (Pannonian Plain). The capital is Belgrade. With 1,639,121 inhabitants in the surrounding, based on 2011 data, it is the administrative and economic center of the country. Serbia has a northern border with Hungary, a northeast border with Romania, and Bulgaria to the east, in the south with the Republic of Macedonia, to the south-west with Albania, and Montenegro to the west of Croatia and Bosnia and Herzegovina (Serbian Republic).

Serbia since the end of World War I was a founder and part of the common state with the most Balkan South Slavs originally the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes (later renamed the Kingdom of Yugoslavia), then in the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, Federal Republic of Yugoslavia and Serbia & Montenegro in 2006, after a referendum in Montenegro, State Union of Serbia and Montenegro ceased to exist and the Republic of Serbia, on the basis of the Constitutional Charter of Serbia and Montenegro continued the union and legal continuity of the state union of Serbia and Montenegro.

The Republic of Serbia has two autonomous provinces: Voivodina and Kosovo and Metohija. Since the NATO bombing of Yugoslavia, the province of Kosovo and Metohija is under the protection of the United Nations. Provisional Institutions of Self-Government in Kosovo, where ethnic Albanians make up the majority. On  February 17, 2008 unilaterally and illegally (contrary to the domestic law of the Republic of Serbia-the Constitution of the Republic of Serbia since 2006, And UN Security Council Resolution 1244 and international law) are declared the independence, which the Republic of Serbia, many other states and the United Nations does not recognize.

The Republic of Serbia is a member of the United Nations, the Council of Europe, the Organization for Security and Cooperation, Partnership for Peace and of the Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation. It is also an official candidate for membership in the European Union and a militarily neutral country, and has the status of observer in the Organization for collective security and cooperation.


Accommodation booking


Book your ride from airport, to any desired destination in Serbia +381 11 660-10-17 Uluguru Tours, tour company & safaris Royal Tour N Travel Radio stanice uzivo